In our time, specialists of all kinds are highly overrated. We need more generalists-people who can provide broad perspectives.

The prompt claims that in this modern age, more generalists are needed for broader perspective since specialists are highly overrated. I disagree with the generalists' part of the claim. There may be two perspectives at every discussion. One is specific, other is general. In this technological era, without specific details it is very tough to go further ahead. Generalization can do very little in this age.

Firstly, there are more diversified disciplines than ever happened. Say for example, old mechanical engineering now is divided into various specific departments. Such as, aeronautical engineering, naval engineering, rocket engineering, robotics, industrial production engineering etc. These specific departments are now discussed in details by focusing into more specific courses. Such as naval engineering can be divided into construction sector and design sector. Someone may design cargo ships, someone may concentrate on warships, or someone on yachts. One can not think about generalization on this mechanical engineering. Same things happened at philosophy, biology, sociology etc.

Secondly, In medical we need specialists on eye, dental, cardiac, lungs etc. Without these specifications, we will be at risk when we go to a general doctor who can give prescriptions on every disease. So, specializations can not be overrated. Rather, we need more specialists.

Thirdly, generalizations can be wrong idea at some sector. We should concentrate on specific details. In many sectors such as engineering, medical, we should use empirical formulas rather than general one. Otherwise, our results can be wrong and we have to pay a great cost.

However, many people promote the notion that specific details are complex rather generalizations are more easy to work. They can think about the theory of everything. One theory can explain the world. But these people overlook the fact that at a specific sector one can concentrate easily on his/her specific interest and they can be more successful.

In conclusion, I have argued specialists are more needed than generalists in this modern era. This view will become more dominant in the coming century at every sector. The issue may not be resolved to everybody's satisfaction, but in the long run, promoting specialists than generalists will lead to the betterment of all of involved.