As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement

The task at hand is to discuss the effect of technology on the cognitive and creative abilities of humans. I completely disagree with the fact that increasing technology will deteriorate thinking capability. Rather, in recent times, it has only shown to increase productivity and ease in solving problems and not the reverse.

First of all, let us look at the role of technology in the context of the Industrial Revolution. The productivity obtained in all fields, including agriculture, factories, craftsmanship, transportation boomed in terms of efficiency. Advanced tools like telescopes helped astronomers verify their hypotheses. In all of the cases, humans were relying on technology to make their lives easier and more productive. However, in contrast to the statement made, it didn’t affect the thinking capabilities, as new inventions and discoveries popped up as the scientists had amazing tools at their disposal which they used to boost their theories. Invention of electricity has made a lot of technology alive today, in the sense that electricity is used everywhere around us these days. These inventions helped humanity as a whole to make tremendous progress in the last couple of centuries as compared to any other time period.

In the current era, technology is all around us, starting from the automatic coffee maker which prepares a hot cup of coffee when I wake up, to the all-knowing smartphone that finds the fastest route to office in an unexpected road jam while the presentation is being synced with the remote server, all while glancing through the news of what’s happening around the world. All this technology has helped us a lot in terms of balancing everyday life. It may seem that all this automation has made people more careless and that their long-term memory may be impaired as they rely more on alarms, reminders, sticky notes, and so on. But this statement is flawed in the sense that the same technology has opened up a myriad of possibilities to solve more problems, thus opening up the problem-solving capabilities. As we progress towards more and more conceptually challenging problems, we would need more computation, data, algorithms, and soft-skills at our disposal. Rapid strides in technology is already providing us with enormous amounts of data and computation, but the thinking and innovation is ameliorated by the same ideas that led to the invention of both hardware and software. Satellites are allowing us to probe into the depths of space, and as the study of astronomy gives us more evidence, we are compelled to find out more about it. The evidence plays a crucial role in understanding how things work, and this leads to new ideas and theories, which in turn leads to new inventions, and faster and better methods.

On the other side, in a more common setting, people use technology in their daily lives without having to compromise on thinking capabilities. Using calculators, for instance, doesn’t hinder the mathematical intuition behind addition, or multiplication, but it obviates the need for arduous and boring work of calculations by hand, especially for large-scale computations. Humans are not “programmed” for large scale computations, something which computers are very good at. Rather, we humans possess the strongest of all computations, i.e. innovation and creativity, something which technology cannot create by itself, at least in the near future. This aspect of humans is only enhanced by machinery since it saves time, power, energy, and human resources, instead of deteriorating it. Propulsion of innovation and movement towards a better and advanced civilization is possible only through making terrific changes in the current amount of technology we possess, and use it in an appropriate way.

Thus, using technology to solve problems aids in our ability to compute and saves us time, energy, and resources. It is extremely efficient at performing things that we cannot perform fast. On the contrary to what some people may think, it doesn’t hinder thinking abilities, rather, it ameliorates it when used in the right way. It is one of the building blocks to a better and more sound civilization.