The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you t

The well-being of a society is definitely enhanced when many of its people question authority. It ensures that the authority in question is performing its job smoothly and all inconveniences are brought to it. I definitely support this statement and will back it up with a few examples.

The first and foremost idea for questioning authority is that people have the right to know of the functioning of the authorities, ranging from the local police station to the country’s government. Centralization of power in a few hands can be very catastrophic from the common man’s standpoint. This can happen even under the hood of subtle changes in policies favoring the misuse of power and domination of the authorities. Therefore, a healthy society can proliferate when power is kept in check. That is the reason why democracies have been successful than dictatorships, for example.

Moreover, when people question authorities, their arguments or criticisms must be relevant to the problem at hand. Making trite and wasteful arguments simply leads to declining efficiency of the authorities while having to manage all these remarks. For example, if the parents of the children going to a particular school complain about the strict uniform policy of the school, it might digress their attention from more important issues, like teachers getting lesser pay. But if the school has a problem with providing quality education to the students, or it has some other issue which hampers the well-functioning of the system, then the parents have the full right to dig deeper into the problem and bring it to immediate attention. Hence, the crucial factor is to criticise in a healthy way, which will actually leads to better functioning of the system. It should be ensured that the process of feedback does not turn violent in any verbal, or physical way.

One possible argument that can be made against this remark is that too much of questioning can digress the authority from actually doing its job. This argument could be flawed by having managerial positions that consider the overall functioning, while dealing with the complaints by the people. Moreover, most authorities do not turn a blind eye to the feedback of their people, because there is the risk of being replaced by some other entity. In democracies, the ruling party is liable to be changed in the next elections if they do not address their people. A business may lose shares or valuable clients if they do not have a customer service. A police station cannot function without having someone to file a report. Most, if not all authorities, keep an eye out for the feedback they receive.

Lastly, it’s the people who get to decide what’s best for them and what’s not. Having a lot of people to participate in discussions and meetings to bring certain problems to the authority’s notice can help the people in getting their amenities. Questioning the authority is not necessarily a bad thing, it simply gets more people to get their heads cranking about the policies and whether it’s really doing more good than harm to them. Ensuring that people engage in a healthy interaction with the concerned authority is key to its well functioning.