As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate. Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The world today runs on technology. From setting an alarm in our cell-phones every night to operating massive machinery in space tech programs, technology has become an integral part in every sphere of human activity. The third industrial revolution to take place in the world, after the huge waves created by the steam engine and electricity was the invention of computers and robotics. And the world has never been the same since then. Tech companies have grown by leaps and bounds and some of the most brilliant inventors of our time head the largest tech corporations in the world. The demand for tech has been endless and has involved a continuous stream of innovation and upgradation – we have evolved from using beeping pagers to the most basic Nokia mobile phones and now using FaceTime on the iPhone. What’s more, there are no signs of slowing down any soon.

The single most important reason for the massive success of technology is the fact that it has made life easier and more manageable. Not only can technology solve the big problems like launching rockets into space but can also be used at the grass-root level to educate a village. Growth rates of economies have risen like never before and countries that have invested in developing technological infrastructure have reaped the rewards. While we are dependent on technology, we have also greatly benefited from it. Be it a calculator, estimating the weather, navigating in a new town, we use technology every single day in one form or other to simplify life and become more productive.

While some may argue that technology has made us overly dependent that it has adversely affected us I agree to it only to an extent. It is true, excessively indulging in tech platforms such as social media has been proven to be a significant cause of depression in adolescents. Facilities like online delivery that are a click away have resulted to a sedentary lifestyle, the debilitating health impacts from sitting in front of a computer for hours and getting little physical activity and natural sunlight are all a cause of concern.

However, I believe this does not necessarily imply that reliance on technology will deteriorate man’s ability to think for himself. This is simply because at the end of the day, technology cannot replace man’s brain. Technology works brilliantly as long as it has a database - consider a doctor who encounters a disease that has never been seen before, or a problem of conserving a new-found species. There are many instances when human beings have to think out of the box. Technology is not able to accomplish this. Most importantly, humans are characterised by their ability to empathise and a fear of death and a will for survival which has propelled mankind from the Stone Age to today. We cannot program these emotions via technology. The need for human emotion and presence of mind will always overpower all of technology’s capabilities and hence I do not agree that as people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.