An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The international development organization has recommended the government to promote the cultivation of a new breed of millet that is high in vitamin A in Tagus. The reason stated for this recommendation is the observed deficiency in vitamin A among the people of this impoverished nation. The organization also recommends that subsidies be paid to farmers for cultivating this otherwise costly type of millet.

However, before this recommendation is followed through, the concerned authorities must assess this situation from several angles.

First, one needs to look at the sample size of the respondents who underwent the vitamin test. It could be that the deficiency is specific to only a certain part of the country. In that case one need not intervene in cultivation choices and patterns of farmers across the country.

Further, paying subsidies to the farmers for this type of millet cultivation may not be feasible or fiscally prudent for the government given its other subsidy programs and farmer protection schemes. Also, cultivation of this new variety of millet might not only incur increased cost of seeds, but also incur more costs for resources like machinery, labour, fertilizers and pesticides. Hence, even if the cost of seeds were to be covered by the subsidy, a farmer simply may not be able to afford the increased costs of other resources.

Further, the organization does not seem to have provided any information on the other effects of consuming this variety of millet. While it may improve the concentration of vitamin A and cure the people of Tagus of their vitamin A deficiency, it might also result in excesses or deficiencies of other vital nutrients or perhaps its consumption might not be suitable given the climate of the region. Such effects can in fact be detrimental to people's health. Hence, emphasizing and promoting the inclusion of the new type of millet in people's diet might actually push them towards other possible ailments.

The organization also takes it for granted that people will readily adopt the new variety simply because it is already a staple food in the region. However, people's dietary tastes can never be assumed to be a certain way and it might be the case that they do not find this millet palatable at all.

Finally, the organization must also consider whether there are alternate and more cost-efective ways to tackle the deficiency of vitamin A that also take all the abovementioned aspects of the problem into account, or else following through with the recommendation is not likely to have the predicted result.