As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology has changed the way think about our world, but not our ability to think within the world. Today, many young people use computers to program advanced computer languages to solve advanced mathematical and technical problems. Additionally, a variety of research tools are now online, enabling people to find the answers to their own questions with ease. Both have expanded our ability to think about the world in new and advanced ways. While some basic skills have degraded, more advanced levels of thinking have taken its place.

As new technology has come online, so to has the need for people with an understanding of both math and language. The people are computer programmers. They are experts in mathematics and logical language. These are solving problems such as how predict the weather with advanced computer models or how do we make ordering a Christmas gift online easier? These are advanced problems, that take problem solvers that understand how to solve both basic and advanced problems.

Additionally, many people around the world are solving their own problems and thinking for themselves by using many of the online research tools. A few decades ago, disadvantages members of society were at the mercy of highly trained lawyers and secluded libraries to learn about the law. An accused man or women could not independently research their own case. Today, however, anyone can learn about the law, previous case laws, disposition of relevant judges. What has changed in technology, today there are online legal databases, blogs and many courts publish their documents for public viewing. Those that want and need to think for themselves, can do so.

All of the above are examples of people solving problems and thinking for themselves. However, one should acknowledge some basic skills have eroded. Many children struggle at spelling. Spellcheck has enabled many children to sidestep the dreaded teacher’s red-pin. These students are not better spellers; their word processor has gotten better at deciphering their words.

In sum technology has improved our ability to solve advanced problems. Problems such as the weather that rely on math and logical language problem solving. Additionally, the advent of online legal repositories and blogs have empowered people to think for themselves about the law. All that being said, we must acknowledge that some basic skills have degraded as technology has improved. In sum, people are able to solve more advanced problems and think for themselves.