As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

there is no doubt that modern people have become increasingly dependent on advanced technologies to solve many problems in different fields. Whether or not our abilities to think independently would deteriorate over time depends on the specific roles we play in the modern society. For people who develop the technologies to solve problems, their abilities to think will be sharpened continuously as they have to refine the technologies to meet new demands of the end users. For people who participate in the policy making regarding the use of technologies, their thinking capabilities will also improve as they are forced to ponder on the fundamental problems related to technology and society. Nevertheless, the statement may hold true for those people who do not actively seek opportunities for critical and creative thinking in this technology-driven society.

Consider the scientists and engineers who are responsible for developing the theoretical and practical aspects of the new technologies. It is true that they also rely on technologies to solve their problems in research and product developments. but they also rely on their own thinking abilities to solve problems in their works. For example, software engineers of mobile apps rely on the mobile programming platforms to develop the apps as the platform can help the engineers to visualize the user interface of the apps. The computers they use can also collect and analyze the user data for the software engineers to better understand how the users behave in response to different app design decisions. but ultimately, no computer softwares can replace the engineers in solving the key problems such as how to attract more users and how to improve the quality of user

experiences. If the engineers are to improve the mobile apps, they still have to think by themselves to decide how to improve the design by taking into account the data provided by different tools. likewise, the computer scientists are challenged to optimize the algorithms used in different programs to reduce the time required to run the programs. sophisticated computer programs such as Matlab can help the scientists to simulate different algorithms and get data on their computational performance. but the computer scientists have to think by themselves to tweet the mathematical models and develop more efficient algorithms.

The development of new technologies also challenges those people responsible for formulating policies and rules regulating the use of technologies. The popularity of social networking sites such as facebook and Twitter presents a wide variety of social problems such as cyberbullying, hacking and privacy violation that call for the introduction of new rules and policies. Government officials, legislators and experts in relevant fields have to work together to address these issues through developing more sophisticated policies and laws. For example, facebook has now gathered a staggeringly large amount of data about its users in digital forms and used the data to to make profits in many different ways. To address issues like these, the policy makers will of course rely on the state-of-the-art technologies for communications such as email, video conferencing and even facebook to collect feedback from the users and data from different sources. they may also rely on statistical software packages such as SPSS to analyze the data. but the technologies can never make the decisions for them. they still have to think about these issues from different perspectives and come up with their own decisions. As a result, for these policy makers, this statement does not hold true, either.

The concern that reliance on technology to solving problems may lead to the deterioration of thinking abilities is more valid for the people who do not have the opportunities to think creatively and critically as a result of technological development. For example, as tvs become prevalent, people rely on this technology for news, entertainment or even baby-sitting. As tv offers a multimedia stream of news, there is no need to read newspaper critically and make one’s own decisions. As tv episodes brings people amusement 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, people do not have to think about what to do to live a meaningful and fulfilling life. As tv can keep the children busy and occupied for hours, parents do not need to think about how to develop interesting and creative activities for their children. For the people who rely on tv or similar technologies to solve the problems in their daily life, they may gradually lose the abilities to develop more creative solutions through their own thinking.

computer scientists and programmers like to say, “there are two kinds of people: those who know binary numbers and those who don’t.” likewise, in the age of technology, there are also two kinds of people: those who think about issues related to technologies and

those who let technologies to think for them. For the former, the development of technologies will stimulate them to think more and their abilities to think will grow over time. As for the latter group, their abilities to think for themselves are likely to decline as the technologies have deprived them of the opportunities to think.