"People's behavior is largely determined by forces not out of their own making."

We human beings are products of societies. To be more specific, our behaviors are more or less regulated by the codes or customs of the society. Nevertheless, it is our free will that makes the final decision whether it complies to the convention or not. In this sense, our behavior is always determined by ourselves.

The codes of the society do have a profound influence on our decision making. We were told to behave like a member of the society from our kindegartons about the proper way to talk with teachers, the impotance of being honest and the good habit to finish homework on time. All these are good behaviors appreciated by the society. We do them not only because of our own incentives but the instructions of others. When we grew older, we learned the customs that would make our lives more convenient like the convention to drive on our right side and to wait in line. We took all these for granted not only out of our advantages but also the guidance of morality and laws.

Though the outside forces give us strong guidance on what to behave, it is important to notice that we are still the one who make the decision ultimately. Even if we understand the laws that prohibits stealing, it is up to ourselves to steal or not. Same arguments apply to the codes of the society and the convention in our daily life. Why do we behave or not behave in that way? In essence, we do it because it satisfies our own interests. If we dare to challange the established law, we would be punished by the government and even go to jail. Likewise, if we cut in line, we would pay the price of the anxiety of our conscience and the criticize of others. The process of decision-making is so natural and even subconscious that sometimes we tend to forget the participation of our own will.

Nevertheless, we would easily notice the power of our own thinking when the established outside forces come into conflicts with our own will. After all, what makes those outside forces really count as the code of our behavior is to promise our own interests and the stability of the society. We abide by them because we acknowledge them. For instance, the custom of waiting in line is apparently beneficial for every one. But some of them either serves the benefits for the authority or even just our ignorance. The ethics of the church in the middle ages are more like ways serving the authority to control the innocent mass. Additionally, the traditional social role for women, especially in east Asia, where they are regarded as the product of men and supposed to commit themselves to the whole family rather than their personal careers is out of sheer ignorance. Under such circumstances, the behavior of our own decision is both necessary and profound. Scientist like Bruno and Galileo showed the power of their free will, challenged the eastablishment, though taken as dissidents and punished by the authority, finally debunked the myth of the church and sowed the seeds of Renaissance. If our behavior is really determined by outside forces, there would be no progress in our society at any rate, which clearly contradicts our experience.

In conclusion, the outside forces are widespread and influential to our behavior because they are good for us. Nevertheless, our own will is the only determinant to our behavior. Furthermore, the decision fighting against the establishment is essential for the prosperity of our society.