In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

It is extremely painstaking to make great breakthrough in any field of study. Any contributions require innovations, hard-working, stamina, enterprises and almost all kinds of qualities. From my perspective, it would be ponctitious to draw a conclusion that a beginner or an expert would be more likely to make important contributions.

First of all, the argument aquiesce that there does exist a clear difference between an expert and a novice. Nevertheless, an expert in a particular is nobody but a pile of experience through which he/she has gone. In the millieu of globalization currently, cross discipline study gain increasingly popularity and an expert in one field is probably striving to dabble into another, where he/she might be a novice because he/she lack sufficient experience. For instance, Donald Trump could be an expert in the market or economic field, but hardly one in political science. In this sense, it is no longer necessary to tell the difference between the expert and the rookie.

Even if we admit the gap between both, it is still difficult to determine who could make more achievement. As mentioned before, an expert has the advantage of valuable experience and prestigious reputation, which might hamper his or her research in a way, while a tyro may be more innovative and radical since he/she has nothing to lose. Thus, they have their own niches in different discipline. For instance, the politic stage would welcome experts who have better understanding of compromise and cooperation; a prestigious chef is more likely to make delicious dish; a programmer familiar with computer science can design better software. All these fields ask for glut of experience to be dexterous and proficient. Hence, experts are more probably to succeed.

However, when we take a look at the field like music and art, we would find a plethora of artists who make consummate achievement when they are actually beginners. Vincent Van Gogh is an indigent and obscure artist but panited the masterpiece "Starry Night"; when Langlang was admited to the best conservatory in China and became world-known, he was only a 17-year-old boy; Chengzhanggeng, a Chinese poet wrote his most well-known poem when he was an adolescent, even cannot master all the Chinese characters. Their talents, enterprises and peerless innovations as beginners are the very keys to their contribution.

In conclusion, what really counts should never be whom the person is but what characteristic the person possesses. Any one who is experienced and knowledgeable as an expert, innovative and intrepid as a beginner is promised to make important achievements in his or her field.