People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Human behavior has puzzled the public and scholars for a long time. When is comes to the determination and motivation of people\'s behavior, the point of views are always ambivalent. Some contend that our behavior is mostly decided by outside forces instead of our own making. I tend to agree with the statement, but I would like to note that under some circumstances, people\'s own making can be chief motivation.

Foremost, sociologists have now understood how our behavior is determined by others. Being aware of it or not, we tend to behave in accordance with a group of people around us, which is known as the reference group. People want to get along well with their partners, and being disparate can make them alienated. Take myself as an example. My family moved to another province when I was in junior middle school, and I later found myself unwittingly altered my speech and expressions in daily life, simply to be similar to my peers, which facilitates the communication between us.

What is more, living in modern society, people are hardly given the latitude to behave according to their own willnesses. Conversly, they have to compete with others, to follow social norms. Many students study hard just because they need to deal with the many exams, to outstrip their counterparts in competition to win the scarce opportunities in society. Similarly, in public space people are restricted by a set of rules and norms. For instance, people are not expected to eat or to make phone calls in the subway, because this behavior can disrupt public orders. People are also required to take the right side when on an elevator or stairs. These social norms can lead to inconvenience personally, even in contradiction to peosonal needs and desire occationlly, but they benefit the public as a whole.

However, as independent individuals, people still can behave following their own motivations, and it is actually one of the hallmarks of modern democracy. This is best illustrated by the thriving civil society. Women and feminists can march for their rights, get themselves heard, for example. Peaceful demonstrations may cause do so. Only by doing so can people\'s freedom to behave be fulfilled. Notbly, as long as well-organized, people\'s behavior of their own making and that of ecternal forces are not mutually exclusive.

Due to aforementioned groud, people tend to behave according to outside forces but not their own making. This is part human nature and part a requisite to live with others in society. But people\'s right to behave by their own motivations freely is still protected and even treasured.