People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

Determination is one of the core factor in determining the impact of an individual on society, and his/her success. However, we can see more than often that people just follow the trend. Whats in fashion is considered best. Seldom do we find people who make their own decision, which lead to the success and achievements they wanted, not what others wanted. Hence it is very true, that the environment and society make the choices and goals for people.

It is not very uncommon to come across individuals who went with the flow in their life. Let their decisions be governed by circumstances and people around them. From the early stages of life humans have the tendency to follow the rules. For example, parents make most of the important decisions for us upto first 18 20 years of our life. So basically they set us on a path that they think is correct, and most of us just tread along the path, accepting the choices others formulated for us. Some of us don’t have a choice and some are too languid to look for other options.

Even in later stages of life we are too much conscious about the society. We readily accept the set of rules in society are better than others, dos and don’ts of maintaining grandeur in society. But what is this? Its just another way other people make decisions for us. They make us focused on things that we might go out of our way to comprehend and follow. Rarely do we see people making their own path. There was a time when people liked to sit in parks and public places to enjoy. But now just because society thinks sitting in a park or a public place a sign of being indigent. They cast a lowly gaze on people who do so, and thus we see very less people in parks. We rarely even see parks around anymore, let alone be people in it. Now we follow the trend and go to the ultra hip places, bars and lounges to entertain ourselves.

There is also a conjecture that if a lot of people are doing something it must be right. They are not fools to follow something. However, this can be a very disturbing thought. If we think of a world where injustice has grown, there are atrocities happening everywhere. In such a world, letting the environment set goals for us would only lead to more destruction. Their may be some exceptions but on a general tone things won’t be getting better any time soon.

It is very necessary to take control of our own ambitions, as its only then we can be on a path that could give satisfaction to us. It may result into society’s betterment or devastation, but in both ways it will have great impact on the society. Plus, achieving success in out goals also needs passion. And real passion only exist where we make decisions for ourselves.

It is true that, people like to follow other people, but everything good doesn’t come out of merely following. There is a lot to decide on our own. If we leave these decisions to be governed by society and environment, it won’t provide us with the satisfaction or the happiness. But it is indeed easy to follow and get affected by the surroundings. And thus, most of the population is following goals and ambitions that others have set for them.