49. Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

Learning has been the backbone of humanity. It is through learning and adapting we have evolved from a primitive nomadic state to a highly intellectual civilization. However, the means to achieve knowledge were never benefited from consensus. Challenge is an integral factor in development of any idea or knowledge.

People with contradicting views are very necessary for learning. If that wasn’t true, we would still consider that the Earth is flat not round. Humans can develop insights anywhere and anytime, get inspired of even most mundane things. But no two individual think the same way. So since there are variations in thinking, contradictory insights are bound to happen. These may lead to dissention or annexure of some more refined details to the proposed theory. Both of which are highly integral to increase human learning.

Moreover contradicting views throw a new light to any idea, exposing it to higher level of scrutiny. The scrutiny will reveal the loopholes and shortcomings of the conjecture. Thus, motivating people to overcome the shortcomings or render the idea impossible. Either way, we learned something that we didn’t know before. Plus, we were able to disregard any illogical knowledge on our way as well.

But nothing is perfect in this world. Contradiction was not always very constructive towards knowledge and learning. People can be very pertinacious. Their reluctance to anything new is also a contradiction, but at times this disagreement even costed many philosophers their life. Galileo was executed because he considered Earth to revolve around Sun, which was totally in opposition to the common understanding of the time, that Sun revolves around the Earth. Similarly many people after succumbing to the stress, as a result of mass disregard for their insights, suffered. Hence, a constructive dissention is necessary, else it is just tyranny against knowledge.

Humans learn everyday, but it is through the power of different views, dissentions we learn the most and the best. There are certain chances that a single individual may suffer, but at the end the entire humanity will benefit from the gained knowledge.