The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities

The specific aspects that contributes to greatness of a political leader is a highly contentious subject. Some claim that the greatness of a political leader is attributed by the challenges faced by that leader more than their inherent skills and abilities. Though a leader is mostly described by the challenges that they have encountered, their inherent skills and abilities are equally important when guaging the greatness and effectiveness of a politial leader.

It is without a doubt that a political leader will encounter multiple challenges throughout his or her time as a leader, but the methodology that each leader uses to engage each problem can demonstrate the effectiveness of such a leader. Political leaders that encounter a problem must used their inherent skills and abilities in which they advertise to become elected to overcome challenges effectively and swiftly. For example, a leaders faced with a challenge of taxation can utlize their skills inherited from law education prior to being elected to tackle such challenges or a leader addressing a challenge in persuading congress uses their oratory abilities for creating a cogent argument. Thus, it is true to say that a greatness of a leader based on the challenges he or she have face must also be attributed to the inherent abilities and skills used to resolve those challenges.

Though the inherent skills and abilities are important, it can be observed that most people attribute the effectiveness of a leader based on the challenges that they have faced. For example, many will recognize President Obama for his healthcare bill, which was perceived as a challenge to pass through legislation over his extraordinary oratory skills in addressing the union, but again, that is not to say, his achievements cannot be attributed to that of his skills and abilities prior to his coronation in law education

In sum, many will address the challenges leaders have faced to determine their greatness, but it cannot be denied that the inherent skills and abilities used by these leaders to tackle these challenges also have a crucial part in gauging their effectiveness and greatness.