The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities.

People tend to regard and judge political figures not as human beings, but as ways of achieving certain goals that are higher than any one individual. It is often the case that the reputation of a political leader depends highly on his or her actions during the mandate and outside of it, which is why the challenges that politicians face, and not the skills or abilities that they posses, dictate their perceived greatness.

Despite individual characteristics, we often measure how great someone’s actions are depending on their magnitude, their impact on the present and future. Therefore, the skills or abilities that helped a politician reach a certain result fade in comparison to the consequences of the solution he came up with. If we compare two politicians with similar skills and values, the one who successfully faced greater challenges will always be the one with the greater legacy. For example, we remember Lincoln for the apparent insurmountable attempt to abolish slavery, not for what a skilled orator he was. Other politicians with great speech skills are far less renouned.

Furthermore, even when politicians, as public figures, encounter scandals that bear their name, the scandal is much more likely to be remembered by the masses than the politician’s response. For example, when Prince Charles of England was accused of adultery, the media and the general public started identifying his persona with the scandal. Few were those who were interested further in his abilities or values, and he would forever be remembered as the man who cheated on England’s sweetheart, Lady Diana. Not only does this judgement apply to scandals, but to memorable or tragic events as well. A perfect example for this is J.F. Kennedy, who is mostly remembered for his assassination, attracting the sympathy of people everywhere, despite his individual characteristics. His legacy is then a positive one, but has little to do with his inherent abilities.

There is no denying that skills and abilities are what make a person. Political leaders, through their public appearences, speeches, and actions, grow closer to audiences, offering an illusion of closeness and knowledge. The public can often read a person, no matter the circumstances they face. However, without a great cause, these are precisely the details that will not live through history, that a politician’s reputation will not bare.

Thus, the way we perceive the greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges they face than how they face them. Oftentimes, behavior, skills, and abilities represent just a means to an end, and without a significant situation, these elements seem to be ignored.