A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Implementing a unique curriculum for all students of a nation up until college is a potentially contentious topic. While I believe a good education relies on diversity of subjects and teaching styles, these could easily be achieved by implementing a basic curriculum to be followed by all students, and extra classes that every student can choose from. In my opinion, students should be allowed to choose what they study to a certain extent, since every person is different and they know to what extent a certain subject will influence their future career.

Firstly, a student can more easily assimilate information on a subject they are interested in, and it would therefore prove more efficient for students to choose some of their courses. For example, a person who is not particularly skilled at Mathematics, but really enjoys Literature, should be allowed to select a lower-level Mathematics course and a more advanced English Literature one. Not only will this student enjoy learning for her classes, but she will also get realistic grades for her future field of study. Since every single person in a class has different values, passions, and beliefs, offering them a unique curriculum seems futile.

Secondly, we consider teenagers as young adults, and we trust them with making decisions that will have strong consequences on their future. Then, why would we not trust them with choosing a part of their courses? Furthermore, multiple curricula would allow students to take a multitude of courses in diverse fields and get a more comprehensive idea about the field in which they want to construct a career.

It could be argued that offering the chance at different curricula would prove unfair to certain students, due to the fact that two programs might not be as qualitative or as thorough. However, if there would exist a basic mandatory curriculum implemented nationally, it would insure that all students have the same basic level in core disciplines such as Mathematics, Sciences, and Humanities. In the additional courses they take, the level should be settled beforehand, such that every student who took a certain course is just as knowledgeable as the others.

To conclude, a nation should certainly require all of its students to have knowledge in the same fields up to a point. A nation would benefit from well-rounded individuals that know the basic notions of every field. However, every student has their unique way of comprehending the world, their specific goals, needs, and passions, and should therefore be allowed to choose the path they want to follow.