The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument made by the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company stating that a higher advertising budget is needed in order to reach the public and compell them into watching the company's movies may seem cogent at first glance, but it is inherently flawed. The advertising director does not provide enough evidence to support his argument and thus the readers of the memo should be unconvinced by his or her conclusion.

The advertising director states that, if more people would be aware of the quality of the Super Screen-produced movies, they would watch said movies. However, there is not enough evidence to support this. For example, what if people do not watch the company's movies because there is a general decrease in people that are interested in watching movies altogether? Moreover, what if the genre of the Super Screen-produced movies is becoming less popular within movie viewers? In addition to this, the high percentage of positive reviews could be due to the fact that only avid movie viewers are still following the company's movies.

Another flaw in the director's argument is the use of vague terms to describe different trends throughout the past year. For example, what if the difference in movie viewers between the past year and the precedent one is negligible? Then, even if there are fewer viewers, a lot of general factors such as industry trends could explain the decrease in people watching the Super Screen-produced movies. It is stated that the percentage of positive reviews has increased, but by how much? Is it a satisfactory percentage overall, or is it just improved in comparison to last year? These are questions that need to be answered in order to determine the validity of the director's argument.

In order to bolster his or her argument, the advertising director should provide the reader with convincing evidence, such as the percentage differences throughout the years, cinematic industry trends, popularity of movie genres and how these correlate with the Super Screen movies. While the director's judgement is not necessarily wrong, there is not enough data to support his or her conclusion, and any reader should be skeptical regarding it.