Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and acting because they enjoy feeling comfortable and fear the unknown.

Chasing greatness means striving for progress in a multitude of fields: science, politics, and laws are just a few of the areas that we, as a society, have to not only preserve but help flourish. The road to a great society does not leave any room for individual comfort zones or complacent behaviors, instead it is based on bolstering efforts to improve ourselves in each and every way possible.

There is no denying that we are situated at the peak of evolution, whether we are referring to a technological or a biological one. Every challenge that our ancestors have overcome has left us at top of the progress curve, enjoying life as we know it. We must not forget that it was progress that got our society to the one we know today. Hadn’t our ancestors fought for improvement, we might have lived in a world with no electricity, current water or heating devices, not to mention more complex technologies such as phones or television. Those who came before us could have settled at any point in history, but that would have changed the world we know forever.

A great society cannot be built over a generation, and we thus have to consider the world we live our children, and the children we live our world. There is a need to raise children in the spirit of work and effort, in order for them to fight for progress and avoid finding settling for less than we, as a society, deserve. To cling to certain ways out of fear of progress or for an apparent sense of comfort means to regress. For example, what if Thomas Edison would have never invented the telephone, because writing and sending letters was comfortable enough? People have struggled for us to benefit from the facilities and opportunities we have today, and we have to return this favor to the generations to come.

It could be argued that striving for progress has not always yield a positive outcome, and that a lot of inventions did more harm than good. However, without these harmful inventions or discoveries, other very vital ones could not have been developed either. The discovery of Uranium by Marie Curie has brought her and others to their deaths, but they allow us to undergo radiography today, an impressive medical tool that we could not do without.

Thus, progress is something we should all strive for, and never fear, for even when it seems the hardest to escape our comfort zone, we shall do it for the greater good.