'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager of the television station argues that in order to increase ratings and avoid losing advertising clients, the station should restore the time allocated to weather and local news to its initial level. He or she supports the claim with facts such as the complaints received from viewers concerning the weather and local news coverage, and the decrease in advertising contracts with local businesses. While at first sight the argument seems cogent, it is fallacious, and not enough evidence is provided for the final claim to be convincing.

Firstly, the memorandum evokes the complaints received by the station, and how they have been mostly targeted at the station's coverage of weather and local news. However, we do not know whether these complaints were about the limited time the station devoted to these type of reports or about the quality of the reports themselves. If the latter applies, then restoring the time frame of the weather and local news would not help increase the number of viewers. Moreover, there is no evidence that in any of these cases the television station would attract more viewers, more specifically new ones.

Secondly, there is no stated reason for the cancelation of advertising contracts by local businesses. Therefore, it cannot be asserted that the cancellations would stop given a restore of the time devoted to weather and local news. For example, if the local economy is collapsing, local businesses could simply not afford advertising their products on television. Another example could be that certain local businesses could have found that their target audience does not follow this certain television station, and it would rather concentrate their advertisement fund on more relevant channels.

To bolster his or her argument, the business manager could provide more compelling evidence, supported by statistics and research. If we were to be provided with the percentage of people who complained about the restricted time devoted to weather and local news, or with the reasons behind the termination of the advertising contracts, the argument could convince us.

While the logic of the memorandum appears to be sound, the manager should strengthen his or her arguments by use of specific facts, numbers, and proof of research. Until then, readers shall consider the argument unconvincing and untrustworthy.