"A person's own habits and attitudes often limit that person's freedom more than do restrictions imposed by others."

The speaker asserts that restrictions in person's freedom are basically the result of person's own habits and believes rather that the difficulties which might other people impose us. While the speaker overlooks some adverse impacts of limitations imposed by others, I strongly agree that the most responsible factor in preventing and confining people in achieving their ambitions are themselves.

Undoubtedly, there are some unpleasant situations limiting people’s attempts and desires which are inevitable. One obvious example is an arbitrary government which has a through control on every single activity conducted by individuals. In such an illiberal environment the people in authority subjugate the populace’s creeds and actions. Therefore, people must have the government permission to be able to follow their desires and even thinking and it will be unfair to blame the individuals for these obstacles in the way of their wishes.

Another harmfully influential circumstance would be inherited or maternal disabilities including physical and mental disorders. When people suffering from such chronic disabilities, they can not be sturdy and successful as well as the healthy people in the same situation. For instance, a person who has been born blind will never have the opportunity to see things and distinguish colors to be a good painter although he has great sensible feelings and emotions and a keen talent for art.

However, besides these exceptional situations mentioned above, I concede that the most responsible element in hindering people from their desires and intentions is themselves for several reasons. First, self-motivation and inner enthusiasm besides self-confidence are the key factors which move people towards their callings and desires. Yet, it should not be disregarded that these personal characteristics are mainly related to people’s childhood and the treatment of their parents and other individuals who have been effective in bringing them up.

Second, having perseverance and hope in achieving their goals and wishes would be a critical factor to touch the real happiness and success. People who are easily disappointed and abandon going on despite the difficulties and failures, are the first obstacles in the way of their ambitions. In other words, their weak spiritual features and characteristics contribute to great restrictions that prevent them from keeping on and making a lot of efforts to reach their objectives.

In sum, there are some unavoidable situations which force people some limitations in their life. Nonetheless, the most effective and prevailing factor in making problems on the way of people’s trials to obtain their desires are their own features and weak points.