A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

There is an unsaid social contract, expected to be followed by every citizen of a country. These contracts have been laid down to ensure proper functioning of a society and safety and well being of its people. As a result one must adhere by them and violation of any such contract should result in a serious mulct.

However, the case is not always black or white. There are situations in which a person might knowingly commit a crime, and breach the social contract. In such a situation it is necessary to determine the circumstances in which the person has taken such a drastic step. For instance a person might have hurt somebody to save his own life or the life of somebody else. The affected might be threatening him, or forcing him to do something against his will. As a result, at the spur of the moment the crime might have been committed. Another thing to be taken notice of if whether the person regrets his crime. He did not mean to hurt the other person and what happened was regretted. In such a case, depriving him of all civil rights is not something that should be done.

However often the crime has been committed for fun or cynical pleasure and there is no explanation for this misbehavior. This might have happened under the influence of alcohol, or might be something that a person does regularly. Threatening, carrying of guns or other ammunition, using abusive unethical language not only break the social contract but also make the life of the affected suffer negatively. The affected might loose his self confidence and be scared all the time of the person threatening him. In such a case, it is necessary to take stern action against him so that the crime is not repeated and lives of people are not put at risk. Denying him any kind of benefit will be helpful in such a case.

Consequently, in my opinion i feel that nobody should have the right of breaking the social contract, and if anyone does so action is necessary. However the circumstances leading him to this crime need to be evaluated before any such punishment is leived.