A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo states the requirement of an increase in the funds for a movie to prevent it from being a failure. It is said that due to the new director and other inexperienced workers, more time would be required to produce a successful shot. At the first glance this seems justified however, on further analysis there are various shortcomings of the proposal.

Firstly, it is said that since the director has no previous experience in the movie industry he will require more takes and time to produce a successful scene. However, without any further information about how long he has been in the commercial industry and his approach to the film this cannot be determined. There is a possibility that the director has been in the commercial industry for a long time and his with that knowledge he might be able to produce a successful scene within a short span of time. Also, since generally the commercial industry is thrifty it cannot be generalized without knowing the reasons for the excessive expenditure and if the same applies to the movie industry.

Secondly, being a new director he would want the success of the movie and hence will put in more effort to arrange things on time. It also depends on the other members of the film and the knowledge they have to arrange the things on time and effectively.

Thirdly, an increase in the funds of 10% may still not guarantee that the film will not be a failure. The success of a film depends on various factors like the subject of the movie, the actors, the language and many more.

As a result, the author does not provide a compelling reason for the increase in the funds and due to limited information provided by the author the argument stands flawed. It can be substantialized by giving more facts about the director, his background and approach to the new movie.