A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Committing a crime can not be taken as the sole criterion to judge a person's character. The circumstances and severity of a crime are also essential to come to any conclusion about a convict. This is the basic underlying principle of our law and justice system. It is not justified to devoid a person of his/her civil rights, or proscribe them from right to benefit from their labor without considering the situation in which the crime was committed or the severity of the crime in question.

First and formost, it is not a wise thing to judge a book by it's cover. In the history of law there have been any cases where a crime was committed knowingly but in defense. For instance, it is not justified to imput the blame of being a murder on a girl who killed a person who was trying to rape her. Such scenarios are not infrequent. Thus, it is essential to to consider the circumstances which led the person to commit the crime even though knowing that they are breaking a social contract.

Secondly, we must also consider the primary basis for our justice system is the basis that a criminal can be reformed. This is the reason why we have the concept of prisons and rehabilitation program for ex- convicts. Practicing such a policy which takes away the hope of living a normal life again from these convicts will decimate any chance of their reform. The right to benefit from their own labor gives them the hope that this money will help them get back on feet when they get out from the prison. For example, if a boy was convicted for shoplifting because he did not had the money to pay for the medicines his mother desperately wanted. In a scenario like this, the policy of taking his civil rights and the right to benefit from his own labor will exhort him again to the dark dungeons of crime after being released from the prison for probably the same reason.

However, critics might argue that a strict policy is essential to ensure that the criminals are afraid of the consequences of the crimes committed by them. This point of view is convenient only if severity of the crime committed is also taken into account. Practicing such hard measures against rapists, terrorists or pedophiles is totally justified.

In the light of reasons mentioned above we can conclude that that such a policy is not justified for every convict however, taking the heinousness of the crime being committed into consideration such measures can be applied selectively to the most dangerous and flagrant criminals.