Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? "In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today."

There is no shortage of debate about how the technical advances and increasing population is going to affect our transportation habits in future. In my opinion, the number of cars on the road after twenty years will be much less than what we see today. I feel this way due to two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, with the advancement of technology, the quality and reach of public transportation is also increasing. Moreover, with options like hyperloop coming into picture public transportation is going to be faster and better way to transit in twenty years from now. We already have metro and bullet trains available which provides a faster travel alternatives for cars. My own experience is a compelling example for this. I used to travel by car to my college when there was no metro station nearby and it took me about thirty minutes to reach college. However, when the metro station was built in the area I live in I preferred metro over my car because it was cheaper and faster. For this reason, I strongly believe that number of cars in use will decline in future.

Secondly, the research going on in the field of alternate transportation is overwhelming. Companies are working on options like flying cars and cheaper jetpacks. For instance, a few years back from now we never thought about drone delivery but now Amazon is using drones to deliver products at our doorsteps. So it is not a pipe dream to imagine people using drones for personal transportation. As transit through air has always been a faster way of transportation, if made abundant and readily available most people would prefer it over a car. Accordingly, I think that the availability of alternate personal transportation will decrease the number of cars in future.

To conclude, I assert that advancement in technology will be able to provide us better alternatives in the form of an advance public transport and faster and better options in personal transportation which will eventually result in the declining usage of cars. Hence, I have sufficient reasons to believe that twenty years from now we will see fewer cars in use than we see today.