It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects to specialize in one specific subject.

There is enough controversy about whether it is better to have a broad knowledge of many subjects or deep understanding of a single one. In my opinion, it totally depends on the type of carrier a person wants to pursue in the future. Personally, I think for an engineer like me, knowledge about a wide spectrum of subjects is better in comparison to specialization in a specific one. I think this way for three main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, most of the engineering problems can only be solved by applying concepts from a blend of engineering domains, not just a single one. To put it into perspective, most of the problem which comes to my table expects me to have some knowledge about even the subjects which are not even related to the major I am pursuing. For example, quite recently I designed an automatic locking mechanism for public bicycle sharing system for which I had to learn mechanical design software and server programming even though I am an electronics engineer.

Secondly, exposure is very important in any field. Exposure helps a person to deliver better results. For instance, suppose I am assigned a position of embedded system development engineer in an organization which manufactures mobile phones. Having the knowledge about only embedded systems can undoubtedly get the work done but if I am more aware of the development going on in the related fields I can actually come up with a product which compliments these developments and thus my product will have better chances of getting picked up from variety of choices available and it will, in turn, help me earn larger profit.

Finally, I think having broad knowledge makes a person a better professional. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Initially, I thought being an engineer I do not need to take management classes and hence I should not be forced to do so. However, those forced classes turned out to be beneficial for me during my technical projects as the management and analysis strategies I learned in the management class made me a better team leader and project manager.

To summarize, while for a scientist or a researcher specialization in one specific subject is must, prospective professionals like me are benefited more from knowledge on a wide variety of subjects.