An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument recommends that the deficiency of Vitamin A among the impoverished people of Tagus can be fulfilled by promoting the new breed of millet high in vitamin A. However, the argument is not well reasoned because it is based on several flawed presumptions. The argument has various shortcomings including planning and analogy flaw.

Firstly, the argument assumes that millet, being the staple food in the country will be self-sufficient to fulfill the deficiency of Vitamin A among the people. This might not be the case because there is no data presented regarding the deficiency of the Vitamin A and the nutritional value of new breed of millet. If we had been given this data, we would have been in better position to evaluate the argument.

Secondly, the argument is based on the underlying assumption that the farmers will be able to buy the new breed of millet, given the subsidies for farming. This assumption has no firm grounding as there are no details regarding the difference in cost of the old and new breed of millet. Also, we have no information on the subsidies given. Hence, due to this lack of data, we cannot interpret whether the subsidy provided is enough for the farmers to buy the Vitamin A rich millet.

Furthermore, the argument also has an analogy flaw as it assumes that the new breed will be readily accepted among the citizens, same as the old one. Although, we know that millet is already a staple food in Tagus, what we do not have any information about is wheather the people are willing to accept the new breed or not. Insofar, we have no information wheater the new breed has the same taste as the old one, as it might be the cause for the new breed not being accepted. Given that we do not have any data to validate this assumption under question, the argument fails to validate itself.

Therefore, based on the examples and reasons given above we can certainly conclude that the argument is not based on firm ground. Consequently, the argument fails to provide sufficient data to validate the underlying assumptions. Thus in the absence of such details the argument remains unconvincing.