“Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.”

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Art is an integral and essential part of any society or civilization. However, it cannot have a significant impact if commoners do not have access to it. I concede with the belief that government funding is necessary to ensure that art flourishes and is available even, to people who cannot afford it. Public museums and art galleries are the most conspicuous examples of government investing in arts. The success of these initiatives over the years provides the necessary evidence for the effectiveness of this approach.

There have been many instances in the art history, when even after coming from an affluent family it becomes difficult for the artists to survive.The main reason for this is society and the families usually consider an artist " A deviant".This Orthodox way of thinking prevents them from funding their own flesh and blood on this path of defiance. Monet and Manet are the most apposite examples for this scenario. These artists after being neglected by their families went on living in a day by day manner. Moreover, the situation is not very different even today. Whenever a person decides to take a road less traveled with respect to selecting a carrier the response received is not only "This person has no future" but also, "Holding back the funding is the best possible way to make him/her come back to their senses". Thus, to ensure that lack of funding is not the cause of keeping a talented artist from joining or sustaining in the field of arts the government funding is a must. This can be in the form of scholarships and financial aid. Even organizing public exhibitions or art auctions can be helpful.

Art is a portrayal of history and culture of a community. Government funding is the best possible way to save art forms which are on the verge of extinction.It not only can help promote the budding art forms and techniques but also can help those ones which are no longer able to sustain their pre-held status within the art community and popularity among the people. For instance, Indian PM Narendra Modi's campaign to preserve the traditional silk looms in Banaras and different states in India providing funding to preserve the folk music and dance forms have been noticeably successful.

However, critics argue that government funding might be threatening to the integrity of arts. To counter argue it is essential to mention the contribution of Lorenzo the ruler of Florence in aiding the Renaissance period. He funded the artists like Botticelli, Michelangelo, and Leonardo da Vinci. Although he expected them to improve the city's architecture or draw paintings depicting the best qualities of state and good leadership, it never prevented these artists from implementing their imagination at the fullest and carrying out their own ventures which were also funded by Lorenzo.

Thus considering all the examples quoted above it can be concluded that government funding of arts can not only help aspiring minds to join this quest but can also help the struggling artists to sustain in this field. This can help preserve the endangered art forms. It can help common people to have an access to the snapshots of history, culture, and heritage created by one of the most creative minds in the history of humankind.