Policies that focuses on protecting environment should not be imposed on multinational organizations as they generate profit and boost the economy; even though they cause damage to the environment.

I totally disagree with the above statement that environmental protection policies should not be implemented on the MNCs because of they generate profit and boost the economy of the nation. I think that laws should be same for everyone because protection of the environment is as important as profit and economic growth. If the air we breathe isn’t clean then what is the use of profit and economic growth.

There is a saying “Health is wealth”. It states that good health is more important in life than the wealth you posses in terms of money etc. So if we allow the MNCs to run without any environmental protection policies it would the environment very badly. For example, in Agra due to the toxic gases given out of the industries the color of Taj Mahal marble turned quiet yellow. So to lower this degradation local government had to put Environmental protection policies on the MNCs near Taj Mahal.

The toxic gases and the waste material given out of the MNCs will have direct and indirect impact on our day to day life. For example, the waste thrown out of the MNCs will be sent to the local water bodies which will lead to water pollution. This will harm the aquatic life and also the water which we drink will be impure. Previously, there was news about extinction of Coral Reefs in Australia due to the waste material thrown from the MNCs. Similarly, the air will breathe will get polluted and would lead to many health and breathing problems.

Even the governments have taken initiatives to control the pollution from the MNCs. Like in India the Modi government in India has taken measures to control the pollution done by MNCs by starting “Swatch Bharat Abhiyan”. Even the MNCs nowadays are shifting towards zero carbon emission by producing recyclable products for the pollution control. Also carmakers are doing research and development to control the toxic gas emission from the cars. Even governments are implementing certain norms on carmakers like usage of BS6 engines etc.

So at last I want to conclude by saying that economic growth is a crucial part of our life but at the same time protecting our environment is also equally important because what will you do of the money and the wealth you posses if you don’t have proper health.