Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

I completely agree with the given statement stating ‘Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals’. In consolidation of my view, I will discuss why politicians in a democracy need to pursue a common ground.

Politicians in a democracy are essentially elected representatives of the people of their constituency. They are responsible for the welfare of the constituency. Let us consider a constituency of the size of an Indian Metropolitan ‘Hyderabad’. Hyderabad is a global city with exceptional exports pertaining to the Information Technology Industry. The diverse cultures of people that the industry attracts is phenomenal.

Politicians need to take decisions satisfying everyone in the constituency and not just favouring a particular group of people. It is necessary to pursue a reasonable consensus rather than having difficult ideals which might not benefit everyone.

I would like to cite another example elucidating why politicians need to consider the consensus. The Indian Parliament passes a bill only when a majority is achieved among the Members of the Parliament. Despite the noble intentions behind idealistic ideas and schemes of a few politicians, it is always difficult to score a majority to pass a bill. This is precisely the reason why the Lokpal bill, took so much time to be accepted.

A consensus again does not mean that it is always correct and wise. Politicians must decide judiciously whether a consensus is right or wrong. Being representatives of the people, the politicians should not set unachievable goals just for the sake of development. They should set pragmatic goals satisfying the common needs and not waste time on the unnecessary things.