The powerful are most respected not when they exercise their power but when they refrain from exercising it

Write an essay in which you develop and support a position on the statement above. In writing your essay, you should consider both when the statement may be true and when it may be false.

Powerful, by definition, is the ability to exert potency and influence. Some people will argue that the powerful are most respected when they exercise their power like raising swords and giving death penalty to criminals but others will say that the powerful are respected when they avoid exercising it, like granting armnesty to criminal. After weighting the evidence, it is certain that the powerful are most respected when they exercise their not when they refrain from exercising it. People will have no regards for others and law because there is no person in power to penalize them disobeying.

People who argue that the powerful are most respected when they refrain from exercising their powers might point to how the former President of Nigeria, Alhaji Musa Yar' adua handled the Niger Delta militant who were destroying oil pipes. He granted them armnesty, scholarships and business funds to keep them busy because of course, the idle mind is the devil's workshop. Prior to the armnesty, military personnel were deployed to the Niger Delta region to protect lives, properties and arrest any suspects. During their time in jail, there must have been moments of remorse and wishes for a second chance. So then the armnesty came it was like the second chance they have always wanted. Now they won't repeat the crime they committed because they know they may be arrested again and this time there might not be a second chance. Thus, the powerful are most respected when they exercise their power not when they restrain from exercising it.

For over 5 years Boko Haram terrorized Nigeria with continues bomb blasts. The crisis continued for a long period of time because the then President believed in discussing on how to resolve matters rather than taking actions to ensure order in the country. Meanwhile, the Boko Harams could barely understand English so they can't express their demands or bargain on what should be done for them to stop terrorizing the nation. When the next president was elected he trained more soldiers and deployed them to the Boko Haram zones. Within a year the Boko Harams were over powered. Their leaders were killed and their camps destroyed. The few that were remaining were compelled to surrender and again peace and harmony was restored in the country. This shows that the poweful are not respected when they withhold their power but when they exercise it.

In conclusion it is clear that the powerful are most respected when they exercise their power not when they refrain from exercising it. Overpowering the Boko Harams by deploying well trained and equipped soldiers to strategic location all over the country, killing their leaders and destroying their camps shows that power is respected when it is exercised not when it is withheld. If anything, withholding power serves only as a contrast so that we can understand what respect for power really is.