The powerful are most respected when they exercise their power , but not

when they refrain from exercising it."

Someone or something is considered ‘powerful’ when it is intimidating to others. Power is sign of valor and courage. Thus anyone is indeed venerated upon exercising their power.

America is currently considered as the most powerful nation in the world. The notion of it being the powerful all started when it exercised its power to bombard the cities of Hiroshima and Nagasaki to cause a massive destruction. The same can be further witnessed in the formation of Bangladesh, then East Pakistan, when India exercised its power to liberate Bangladesh to become a dominant power in South East Asia.

The exercising of power is not just restricted in the top hierarchy. Even Professors in college are respected among students only upon being a total martinet. Still one could argue that upon refraining from exercising one’s power one is still respected. To exemplify, India has several times refrained from attacking Pakistan for its insurgencies, but still is respected and supported globally for its peace loving aspect.

To conclude, to earn respect apart from being powerful one has to show their dominance by exercise their power.