Progress is best made through discussion among people who have contrasing points of view.

The writer contends that progress is best made through discourse and debate among people who have contrasting viewpoints. I strongly agree with the writer's assertion. In every realms of human endeavor, whether in science, social reform or policy, progress is best made through discourse and debate between who shares contrasting viewpoints.

First of all, restrospective to the past, social reform and policy is best made through debate and discourse. In united states and Britan, as far as I know, prior to implementing any social policy, debate and discourse happens much between the people who have opposite viewpoints. For example, in US, there is a group who believe global warming is a hoax, and there is also anthere group who believes it is not hoax, rather it is real. The discourse and debate happens sometime and opposing person try to establish their viewpoints, thruough this they come into the conclusion that it is not a hoax, after presenting lot of evidences and scrutinizing them. So it has playing a pivotal role.

Second of all, the importance of debate and discussion doesn't confine on only social sector, it as cardinal importance in Science as well. I remember, when I was in a University, some of us used to believe that Newton't second law is not correct where some of our professor and our friends were absolutely in favor with this law. We organized a conclave through which we came into the conclusion that, it is not entirely fasle as we believed but it is not also entirely true either. It varies upon the situation.

In sum, as the writere asserts, progress is best made through discussion among the people who shares contrasting viewpoints, I agree that it is the basic foundation of progress. Without this, in any sector, it is hard to go into the best conclusion.