Prompt: Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing a field of study in which they are unlikely to study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing or supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

hoosing a field of study should be interest-based and self-decisive rather than compulsion from other as it has more to do with personal interest than being compelled to do so.Going to study a particular major in the institution is a self-based decision in which the interests, weakness and strengths of one's abilities are put into check.

When someone is passionate about something (course of study inclusive), all the person's attention and concern is devoted to the thing but in case of compulsion, the thing is just being done for doing sake. An instance of this is a person who plays the guitar excellently right from kid and has become so passionate about it,

it won't be surprising if such person opts for music as his major in college but he's being compelled to take up a lucrative course such as engineering. The passion won't be there anymore as there's no connection between his course of interest and this new option he's asked to take up.

Although, it's a responsibility of educational institutions to orientate young minds, the choice of pursuing a particular field of interest irrespective of the success-level attached to it is solely the student's. Dissuading students from taking up a field of interest because their success in that field is not guaranteed, is like compelling them to go against their dreams and goals. To achieve one's goals and dreams, there is a need to brace up to face challenges along the way as these are parts that make up a success story. This improves a student's zeal to be great in life and self-decisive rather than succumbing to pressure and forces tackling his/her goal.