Question authority. Only by questioning accepted wisdom can we advance our understanding of the world.

We advance our understanding of the world only by questioning not necessarily true. As a human being, every one has their own level of understanding of the world. There are several ways to advance their level understanding of our world by brainstorming, writing, reading and listening about accepted wisdom. It is personal interest to select the way their wish.

From the ancient days, books plays vital role in educating people. Most of the world scientists evolved by reading the accepted principle written by the farmer and relate to the real world entities. This also gives them different perspective of principle and leads to the invention of new principle. For example,the book titled "Travel to the center of earth" inspired several scientists to understand this world in different way.

Easiest way of understanding things is to visualize its contents. Modern technology world gives us several communication medias like television, mobile, and internet allows us to visualize the topic and dig deeper into it by questioning our self and providing solutions to our self questions. One of my friend who uses mobile application called "BYJUS" to understand the principle of relativity even though he work as a software engineer

Rather than self learning, some people needs guidance to understand accepted wisdom because each person differs in metal ability to interpret things. These people can engage with their friends/siblings to brainstorm on topic, clarify correctness of understanding with real world entities. Some complex accepted wisdom might need class room training.

Questioning ability gives us ways to understand accepted wisdom and advance our level of understanding, but most of the people fail because they were not able to find to solution to those questions.

Finally, I would say questioning is not the only way to understand accepted wisdom and advance our level of understanding, Instead people choose their comfort way such as training, listening, reading and discussing to promote their level of understanding about the accepted wisdom related to the world as a whole.