The real talent of a popular musician cannot be accurately assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

The above statement postulates that the real talent of a musician cannot be assessed accurately until the musician has been dead for several years. The reason given for this assumption is that when the musician is still alive, any honest assessment may be interfered by his/her fame. In my opinion, this statement is reasonable to a great extend. With popularity, there comes a great power and dominance. There are several explications which could elaborate and justify this claim.

The primary consequence of gaining popularity is gaining a huge fan following. A huge fan following reflects the dominance of the artist in the market. More the people admire and like the work of an artist, more his value increases in the market. The same is a case with any music artist. As a result the critics are definitely impeded and hindered to give honest critical remarks, thinking that it might receive huge amount of resentment from the fans, which are in legions.

Further, to be popular among the youth, it is not necessary to be technically correct. Rather, the young generation prefers creative musicians. In their view, if the critics demean or give derogatory remarks about a creative artists, they are dogmatic and not ready to change according to the time to accept the new creative talent. Therefore, even if the critics give their honest opinions, they might receive contempt from fans of the artist.

Moreover, due to popularity and market dominance of the popular artists, even the contemporary artists give only limited opinions about the talent of any popular artist. However, once the artist's career has declined, or his fans have fallen in numbers or generations after his death, the critics do not face the fear of resentment and defiance. Therefore, they are more likely to give an honest opinion on the works of the artist.

In sum, I completely agree with the claim that the talent of a popular musician cannot be accurately assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that an honest assessment is not interfered by his fame. The primary explications include the huge fan following of the artist and his market dominance which are the bane for critics to give any negative honest review. Also, the same reasons limit the contemporary artists to give any critical opinions about famous artists. After the death of artist, several generations later, these factors do not exist, making it very feasible for the critics to give honest assessment.