Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be

People nowadays are so busy with their lives, so they tend to ignore any problem until it hit them in their faces. Scandals can act as a wake-up call for profound changes, and they spark people's attention to a specific problem more than speakers or reformers can ever do. At the same time, scandals have many negative impacts on people's lives.

Scandals are most common in politics, where most of the people tend to scrutinize the politician's actions, especially in elections time. Mostly, the politicians use scandals as a tool to discredit their opponents. We all remember the scandal of the former president Bill Clinton. The other political party used this scandal to damage Clinton's reputation. Furthermore, years later, when Hillary Clinton ran for the presidential election recently, her opponent used the same scandal against her along with other scandals. Scandals in politics are powerful, people could choose who to elect according to these kinds of information.

While media should help to raise people awareness and focus their attention on problems, all types of media instinctively hunt for the scandals to make stunning headlines and raise their popularity. Most of the time, scandals are pompous and fallacious and can destroy innocent people lives. Especially with the pervasive use of social media as a source for news. Anyone can create a fake news and incite a scandal to ruin the reputation of individual or institution. Also, many decent people may be targeted by scandals on social media without any validation of the information which these scandals built on.

Moreover, many people react to scandals surprisingly in a negative way, people's perception of scandals differ according to their way of thinking. For example, the ongoing massive shooting in different areas of the US persuades many sycophants or mentally-ill person to do such thing. So many people can be inspired to involve in immoral activity for the sake of money, fame or any other desires.

Scandals may raise people's awareness about the consequences of wrong-doings. Most importantly, if scandals involve people whom they consider a role model, these scandals will galvanize their attention. In addition to ruining the wrong-doer's reputation, also immoral activities could have deteriorating effects on his health, family, and social life. For instance, Maradona, who is considered for many people as the greatest soccer player of all the time, was addicted to drugs (cocaine), this shocking news for his fans around the world soon affected his career, years later he was unable to play soccer anymore as a result. Also, Peter Rose was one of the best baseball players of his generation, but his involvement with gambling on baseball games has tarnished his image in the eyes of many. Undoubtedly, this kind of scandal touched the lives of many of their fans and raised their awareness about the deteriorating effects of illicit activities.

In conclusion, Scandals can focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could. However, some scandals affect people's decisions, but others are fallacious and ruin the reputation of individuals or institution.