Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

The field of study is one the most important decision for the college student to take since it depends on many factors such as; personal interests, abilities, jobs market, and future plans. Educational institutions have to play a vital role to guide students through their counseling services to choose the field of study according to their abilities and interests, but no to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

It is highly difficult to decide the criteria to evaluate the student ability to succeed in a specific field. For instance, it is hard to estimate the aptitude of the student based on his performance in particular subjects; the world is full of successful people who didn't do very well in school. for example, Bill Gates, the owner of Microsoft Company and one of the richest people in the worlds, failed in some of the classes and he didn't do well at school. Similarly, Thomas Edison, who has numerous brilliant inventions which affected many people lives, such as the electric light bulb, which exist in almost every house around the world, his teacher considered him slow and unable to learn and sent him home, that when he was overwhelmed with his endless meaningless questions. Both examples believed in their abilities and work hard to achieve their dreams.

On the other hand, in many cases, students face several social and cultural prejudices. For example, in many middle eastern countries, people consider medical and engineering fields are the best. As a result, it is quite common to find students mostly persuaded by their parents to study these fields. In such scenarios, the educational institutions have to play a vital role to help students achieve self-understanding to take their own decisions. It is important for students to take the responsibility to choose their major according to their passion and interests, not according to the higher paying rate career or the availability of the jobs. This will increase the quality of the graduates and produce creative and passionate workers.

In conclusion, while the students need guidance to decide the field of study by the educational institutions, it is the student call to decide their future career, and it is their responsibility to success on the path they choose.