The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and s

The sole purpose of the government is the welfare of the people, which mean people have the right to involve in the political decisions which affect their lives. As Abraham Lincoln stated, A country should be;" a country of people, by people, and for people". So it is important for the well-being of a society that its people question authority, either directly or indirectly.

Power has the tendency to corrupt people. To assure that the government is efficiently taking the right decisions to serve the people, the people should continuously question the authority. The concentration of power leads to the monarchy and corruption. For example, when the German chose Hitler to lead their country, the power was concentrated in his hand, which lead him to crush anyone who would question him, the absolute power lead him to take actions and to form policies against the welfare of the masses. And there are many third world countries who suffer from tyrannical governments which people are unable to question, where are an unrestrained exercise of power, an oppressive and despotic abuse of authority exist.

In contrary, bais questioning of the authority may hinder their efficiency. While society which promotes democracy attain a better quality of life, many people lack the sufficient awareness of the political aspects to be able to question the authority. For instance, in the US, the public has an ignorance of many issues, such as federal spending. This problem can be ameliorated by raising the public awareness of the political issues and policies which are tangible to their lives, which will make the public participation in the political decision more efficient. Also, governments should have platforms for interactive communication with the public, this will increase their involvement in the political life and invoke their enthusiasm in making positive interventions. In other words, When people are uninformed, they can be led, controlled and manipulated easily, which would open the gates for oppression to walk through.

Moreover, the questioning of the authority may be used by opponents and other parties for destructive purposes. Unreliable and reasonable questioning may arouse many scandals to tarnish the reputation of the people who are in government positions. This will impede the development progress.

In conclusion, while it is crucial that people question the authority to avoid the corruption, this questioning should not impede the efficiency of the government work by being bias and destructive.