Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be

Scandals are very common in today’s world. We come to know about various scams and scandals taking place in various parts of the world. According to the statement in the question, the scandals are useful as they focus our attention in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could. I strongly oppose the view of the author because of the reasons and explanations discussed below.

Scandals can be useful in no ways. In fact the society has to suffer from a huge loss because of these scandals. Let us consider, for instance the scandal of Vijay Mallya last year in India. He had a huge amount of loan in the state bank of India and he flew away from his country at the time of repaying the loan. As a result, the bank had suffered from a huge economic crisis. In order to make up the crisis, the bank had increased the interest rate for the loans of general public. The government also had to help the bank with money to revive the original status of the bank. The economic support provided by the government of India could have been used for some development works of the country. Thus, indirectly the entire people of India were affected because of the scandal. Hence we can never consider the scandal as useful. Rather they are very much harmful for the society.

Again, we often come across some scandals, say, for instance, political leaders getting involved in a physical relationship with his secretaries, that are detrimental to the moral values of the society. These will destroy the values of the society. How can we consider these as useful?

Thus it can be inferred from the preceding discussion that scandals can never be useful. Rather these scandals are very harmful and detrimental to the society. In order to prevent these scandals from occurring in our society, the people should be taught the moral values since childhood. They should be taught how these scandals and scams are detrimental to the society and its people.