Do you agree or disagree with the following statement.Students learn better when they are not threatened with possible failure.Use reasons and specific examples to support your opinion.

Failures are the pillars of success. Everybody makes mistakes; everybody fails; but the most important thing is our reaction to failure. We can learn a lot from our mistakes; rectify those mistakes and come out better next time. But it is seen that many people do not learn from mistakes; instead they are afraid of failing. Some people give up even before trying their best thinking that there are high chances of failure in the work. Similar is the case with students. Some students, being afraid of failure, stop studying a particular subject with a past record of high rate of failure of students. Hence, I think, students should not be threatened with possible failure for better learning.

Again, there are students who think much regarding the consequences of failure. They are worried about the criticism they have to face after failure. They think that his friends will think him to be a dull and insipid person. So, if these students are intimidated with possible failure, they will spend much time thinking about handling the situation after failure instead of studying hard and trying their level best to overcome failure.

I have seen many of my friends not taking science even after being eligible and having a strong desire to learn science. The only reason they did not take admission in science courses was that they were cowed by their parents and primary school teachers regarding high rate of drop outs from science courses. Thus they could not learn science only because they were frightened with possible failure in taking the subject.

Hence, from the preceding discussion full of explanations and examples, it is clear that the author’s statement stating that the students learn better when they are not threatened by failure is logical and true.