Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling

Currently, it is debatable whether scandals are useful or not. Some people hold a view that scandal is not essential since it disclose private information. Others, on the other hand, place weight on the importance of scandals since it sometimes provide facts that focus our attention on problems. In my opinion, although both options might present meritorious points, without a doubt, I would settle upon the latter idea because the benefits of scandals overrides the drawbacks of it. Moreover, I believe that a prominent speaker can also effectively attract people’s focus on the problem.

Scandals, especially in the political sphere, are useful since they reveal crucial information that changes the attitude and minds of layperson. To illustrate, the Watergate scandals was a political scandal, which explicitly showed the involvement of illegal activities by former President Richard Nixon and his supporters. To be reelected, Nixon and his party members perform illicit actions such as illegal break-in and wiretapping. After the disclosure of this scandal, people in the United States criticized the president Nixon and as a consequence, he became the first president who resigned the presidency. Without the scandal, a sound evaluation about President Nixon would not exist, and many politicians would still participate in this kind of illegal activities. Therefore, scandal is indispensible in politics.

In addition, scandal is also pivotal in academia. For example, Hwang Woo-suck is a Korean scientist who is expertise in embryonic stem cell research. To gain a great fame, he decided to fabricate some of his research results, and acclaimed a stunning advancement in the field. However, a scandal revealed that his study results were fabricated and he later admitted his fault. If this scandal was not occurred, many people in Korean and all over the world would still lionize him as the father of cloning, and the development in the embryonic stem cell research would have been delayed. Therefore, scandals are an effective to show the truth behind the hidden facts.

Although scandals is important in grabbing attention of people on a particular problem, speakers can effectively address the issue to people. For example, while the Jim Crow was prevalent in the United States, many African-American people were suffered from unjust treatment. During this time, the facts about racial discrimination was regarded as a social norm, so scandals could not be useful form to gain people’s attention. However, Martin Luther King Jr., a prominent civil right activity and speaker, addressed the issue of racial segregation in his famous speech, “I Have a Dream,” and many people in the U.S. and around the world were able to be aware of this pressing issue. Consequently, this unjust racial segregation was ended and African American people could finally gain their basic rights as American citizens. As we can see from this compelling example, speakers can also act as an impetus to provide essential information on people when scandals are not available.

In belief, scandals go hand-in-hand with speakers in focusing our attention on problems of the society. Therefore, we should go through great lengths to lionize the reformers who have remedied societal ills.