Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Scandals can be characterized as the unethical or illegitimate behavior that instigates public outrage. they have been prevalent in the world since time immemorial. I think it's one of the important matter of concern as various nefarious acts happening in the society are brought into light for general public. So, I am in congruent with the statement that it does focus our attention to details taht might otherwise be hidden and unprosecuted.

It would not be unwise to say that we live in world of gray -that is we have people of both qualities of good and bad. So the things like scandal does really evince out the bad of the world. Scandals are quite capable of causing foment and outrage among people in a way that no speaker or reformer would be able to. To make it apparent, let's take an example of "Me Too" event in which sexual crimes happening to people of local and international figures came out. This took a massive appearance in social sites in 2017 causing all women, who were sexually assaulted, to come out. This became contagious to many countries, starting from US then, to Russia, India and so forth. This was the first time that people all around the world gave their deepest vehement criticism and imprecation which led to firing and defamation of lots of high profile people.

In addition, scandals affects people of large section which makes it imperative to take the matter seriously for the government to quench their citizens' anger. Not only does scandals like this increases the focus among people but also, it forces the authorities to take appropriate action fast. Reformers and speakers on the other hand, may bring solutions to problems but such solutions might not always be ion the favor of nation as it could be influenced by various factors such as power, money, greed and so forth. But scandals when it surfaces, the authorities are forced to do it right. to exemplify, lets take a scandal which surfaced recently about President of US, Donald Trump, about his mishaps on withholding the federal aid of Ukraine to get the information about his political rival for next election,Joe Biden. A man of such power could have gotten away with it, if that scandal had not surfaced. It caused altercation among many people against the President and invoke a legal inquisition against him and should he be found guilty, he will be acquitted of his power and probably be jailed. So, i think we can safely say scandals are powerful tools to illuminate general population of what's wrong.

Scandals play a vital role in addressing the issues of which might have been overlooked by the people and the government. However, some might argue that scandals has grown so popular that people are searching for scandals to get recognition or fame, in the run they are creating fake news and scandals which casts opprobrium on the innocent, so scandals cannot be trusted. It is inarguably true which is why people should only believe in facts supported by definitive proof. Without proof, nobody should be blaming anyone which can mar someone's reputation which cannot be rebuild. But due to some fake scandals, it is not wise to refute scandals altogether.

In my opinion, scandals are very sensitive matters that requires a sensitive way of dealing with it. They are balancing the good and bad by bringing about mishaps and crimes happening around us and incites empathy among us and we should deal with it as a rational human being. They are very powerful tools in many ways that outstrips speaker and reformers in many ways.