Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be

Scandals shake society. While in retrospective scandals can be a good lesson for a complacent society, it would be too far to say that they focus our attention like no speaker could ever.

To add to this point, all revolutions in society are results of a livelong struggle of a great reformer. Nelson Mandella affected more to the freedom of South Africa than any scandals ever could. Although a corruption scandal of some white officials could provide some support to Mandela’s quest for freedom, the revolution would not be possible if there were no speakers or reformers to vanguard it.

Scandals of corruption, misuse of power by politicians, sexual harassment by a top personality are common headlines in the newspaper. But has all the unveiling of the scandals stopped it? Not even a scant. Furthermore, scandals make people pessimistic. But reformers and great speakers talk about hope. Their optimism is pervasive and people believe more. Most

However, there are some examples where all the great speakers were in no doubt of any wrong deeds but scandals unraveled it. Like, In the US general election in 2016, most voters, as well as civic societies, were the confidant of their democratic electoral process. When an ex-employee of Cambridge Analytica acted as a whistleblower, even the prominent speakers and democracy advocates where left at check. Similarly, websites like WikiLeaks have exposed scandals which a reformer or a speaker could never expose. Also, a businessman’s tax fraud scandal can make the lawmakers aware of the possible loopholes which businesses are using to exploit.

In conclusion, speakers and reformers are the chief impetus for addressing and solving the problems in society. However, this position cannot be endorsed without qualification. There are several instances where scandals foregrounded a heinous crime in a smug society.