Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I believe that scandal could be useful to excavate more truth than others and attract the public attention to the issue which could be never known before, and knowing more truth helps us make judgments correctly.

Many celebrities look so moral and well-behaved on the screen until the scandal erupted. Some of them pretend themselves having highly moral spirit and make an illusion with positive and kind imagine in the public. still, the truth behind the screen is sometime embarrassing. For example, the detrimental food oil production scandal of Ding-Ying Group erupted in taiwan, showing that the oil plant produces the poor quality, processed oil, and mixed with problematic ingredient which could have a negative impact on human body. Irony, the business owner always advocates his ambition to secure food safety and even establishes a faithful imagine as a Buddha believer. people haven’t realized the danger of the mixed oil as well as food safety until the scandal appearing on the news. The unveiled truth is so devious and shameful that the oil manufacturer owner was sanctioned and punished to the prisons. On the contrary, if there is no scandal reported, people could never know the truth and still eat the oil they produce. Thus, the scandal would be beneficial and valuable to public based in the case.

Opponents may argue that the scandal is unlikely to have positive impact or contribution to the society and become bickering in the end. For example, the british Prince scandal doesn’t make any contribution to the british society and people like to see the material just out of interest. Although they’re just curious about Prince’s underlying life, the scandal spreading create a lot of jobs. In other words, the scandal itself could be meaningless, but the task to disperse the scandal would be meaningful in a society. Furthermore, even if it is doing nothing, it has no negative effect on the public conspicuously.

Additionally, the scandal not only discloses the truth behind the screen, but also provides a clue which we could judge a person by. For instance, taiwan presidential election on 2020, there is a candidate Mr. han who has been supported by KMT. before joining the election, he was a major of Kaoshung and his ambition extended to president. During the election, he created a so liberal and capable imagine that people expect his great leadership if he wins the election. However, one scandal suddenly erupted regarding his affair showing that he gave 200 thousand us dollars to another women who is not his wife for buying a house. even the media has questioned frequently han about the affair and expect han to explain, but he never face the problem straightly and directly. there is no denying from han and it causes that public question his personality to be a president. In contrast, if there is no scandal, we never know that his personality behind the screen.

In conclusion, the scandal does function beneficially because of the underlying truth and a mechanism to examine a personality.