The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers,

artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people

I definitely agree with the statement that the clear indicator of a great nation is assessed by the well-fare of its people, not science or powerful weapon.

The purpose of constructing a nation is to take care of its people and bring happiness to them. For instance, Taiwan has created a lot of policies for health caring to take care of people. One of them is health insurance for every Taiwanese so that they can see a doctor with little cost. If everyone affords to see a doctor, then people are likely to be healthier and live longer. Thus, even Taiwan is small in terms of the area of a country, people could live with happiness and show greatness.

Naysayers may argue that many great achievements as indicators showing the strength of a nation made by rulers for powerful weapons and left their name in history. However, these powerful weapons, like nuclear bombs, are developed at the expense of the economy and sacrificing the economy is going to draw the welfare of its people. For instance, the dictator of North Korea, Kim Jong-Un has ruled his nation and show great military power with nuclear weapons at the expense of the economy. He has spent almost all of budget on military and left his people suffering, hungry and even dying. Thus, the judgment of potency of a nation should not consider military achievement as a key factor, but a personal achievement instead.

Additionally, Opponents claim that technologies and science are one of the most indicators to show potent of a nation. It is true that they evolve human society and improve the quality of life in many ways, however, the purpose of these improvements has always been making a contribution to people. For instance, spacing exploring, an advanced country like United State, using spacing exploring to expand our knowledge to the universe. But the main motivation of it is to identify or predict if any hazard that could be detrimental to people on earth in the future. To be specific, using the space telescope to see if any huge comet that will collide with the earth and cause a disaster. Therefore, rather saying them as indicators of a potent nation, they're just tools to promote the welfare of people, the ultimate purpose of science and technologies are used to benefit people of a country.

In conclusion, the well-being of people is definitely the surest indicator to show how the potency of a nation. Technologies and science are just used to promote it, not an indicator. Powerful weapons and military are of ruler’s personal achievement, instead of a point to assess the greatness of a nation.