Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Most of the time we do not know the real face of people. Because, habitually, people disguise their true self. In that case scandals might help to know people's real demeanor. The speaker, in the prompt above, avers that scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could. Though, in some cases, scandals are not fruitful, most of the cases it helps people to heed on problems that are vital in nature. Thus, I mostly agree with the statement above.

First of all, when scandals are made as calumny for sullying someone’s reputation, then it might not be useful. Rather It would destroy someone’s true potential. For instance, some people made scandals against Joe Biden, the president-elect of the United States, that his son was a drag addicted. It might be true that his son is, but It does not make any sense in regarding his presidency. Perhaps, It was an attempt for retaliation. In this particular situation, scandals, are not useful, rather It degrade the value of Joe Biden. These kind of scandals, in contrast, would make the person mentally depressed. In fact, he or she could commit suicide.

However, in most of the cases, situations where public policy or greater interest is related, scandals are pretty effective. For example, the Water-Gate scandals focus people attention on a major issue that should be taken into account seriously. Also, the scandals of Bill Clinton can be reasonable in this situation. The lately scandals of Donald Trump, where he colluded with Ukraine’s administration to gain advantage in regarding the 2020 election. If the scandals were not disseminated, Donald Trump, perhaps, might be the President again( though in an illegal way). Thus, in this situation scandals are important.

Moreover, before electing someone in a vital situation we need to know meticulously about the person we are electing. Most of the cases, as I stated above, they (political leaders) disguise their true face. If that is the case, then an scandal may reveal some paramount facts about the leaders which might be helpful for the people in electing the person.

In sum, there are few cases where scandals are not useful, but the benefits of scandals far outrun the inefficacy.