Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Scandals can have adverse affects on a society. But they play a crucial role in bringing the attention of general public to alarming situations in the society which needs to be resolved in a way that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Primarily, Scandal encourages actual actions. It is not very effective if a speaker or reformer address a particular issue until the general public know its affects. Scandal helps people realise the urgency of the issue and encourage them to put pressure on the authority to resolve it. If not for scandals, the people of the society would not gather enough courage to raise voice against a particular issue.

Now, let us consider an example of India. In India, corruption is prevalent in almost every economic sector of government. People do not hesitate much to give bribe to government officer in order to hasten their proceedings. But when major corruption scandals of millions of dollars occur in the country, it is then when people realise that their money is being misused and raise their voice against the matter.

Scandals helps in making our judiciary system more powerful and effective. Because when people raise their voice in large numbers, it does not leave government with any other option rather than introducing laws and bills that would counter the given issue. Hence, it prevents for such a situation to rise again and affect more number of people than it previously did.

At last, it also important to consider the affect of the scandal on the people directly or indirectly related to it. A scandal at a large scale may do more harm than what is repairable and may ruin lives of many people completely. But scandals do help in dealing with the demons of the society in ways no speaker or reformer ever could, by bringing laws against it. Hence, scandals can be consider a necessary evil.