"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director of student housing at Buckingham College proposed that college should build a number of new dormitories to accommodate the future need and also to attract prospective students. While he makes a compelling argument, there are certainly some gaps in the argument that needs to be fulfilled.

Primarily, if the number of students increases and the college starts providing options of room-sharing, then it could positively help the students. If the college doesn't increase the cost of the room and provide an option of room sharing, then the students can split the rent which would decrease the financial burden on them as vocational education is already very expensive in the United States.

The director of student housing claimed that average rent for an apartment has risen in recent years. But is fails take into account the fact there may be a pay increase as well for the students doing part time jobs in the university or outside the university. If it is the case, then the students doing part-time jobs may prefer an apartment in the town with better facilities and more privacy.

Also , the director of student housing mentioned that attractive new dormitories would make perspective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham. It fails to take into account the other factor that may attract perspective students more than building new dormitories like improved course structure, better research opportunities, students grants and scholarships. There may be a possibility that better research opportunities and more scholarships would increase the enrolment by a greater scale than creating new dormitories. If this is the case, then college should spend money on providing better research opportunities and more scholarships rather than creating new dormitories.

At last, creating new dormitories may also produce the desired result if all the factors are assessed correctly. For this to happen, the director of student housing needs to evaluate the above mentioned factors and then reach to an appropriate conclusion.