Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In this modern era, we often come to know about scandals of many celebrities through social media. The prompt suggests that the scandals concentrate our attention on different problems, so they are helpful. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this suggestion because of two reasons, however, I do concede that in some cases scandals might be useful.

First of all, scandals destroy human privacy which is a fundamental right of a human living in a civilized society. As human beings, we usually do different things that we do not want others to know because we consider that the disclosure of these actions will harm our reputation in a community and make us feel insecure. For instance, the actors and actresses nowadays are severely suffered by the photographers everywhere in the world – wherever they go, photographers follow them and capture their daily moments which might be related to their personal life instead of their professions. As a result, celebrities can not enjoy intimate moments with their loving persons without at least one camera looking at them; even sometimes those pictures are released online without permission so that everyone can see them. Thus, scandals are harmful to leading a normal life.

Secondly, scandals often present false information about someone to create confusion in society and mislead the general public. Due to the wonders of science, we now have the state-of-the-art technology to receive any news from anywhere in the world in a second; so rumors spread faster and most people believe them without verification. For example, before the 1985 Mexican parliament election, the opposition party released a video tape of some ruling parties politicians giving orders to policemen to kill hundreds of innocent people. When this video went viral, without checking the credibility of the source, many people changed their vote and finally opposition came into power. Surprisingly, few months later, an intelligence agency discovered that the video tape was made through computer graphics, and people realized how they had been duped. Therefore, unscrupulous people can easily exploit scandals to deceive people.

However, in some rare cases, scandals might bring some essential news into light that has been kept secret to gain something illegal. Miscreants always strive to keep their actions hide from everyone and maintains a reputation outside which could be revealed by scandals. For instance, the Watergate incident was one of the most highly discussed topics in the 20th century where the former president of the United States Richard Nixon made an arrangement to keep an eye on the opposition party’s headquarter to know about their strategies and plans. When this secret was revealed, people went against him and asked the authority to overthrow him and finally, he was forced to resign. If people did not learn about his misdeeds, they would blindly support him. Hence, scandals are sometimes useful to focus us on a certain problem that might be overlooked otherwise.

In conclusion, scandals violate people’s privacy and provide reprobates an opportunity to subterfuge people by disseminating lies although in some extreme cases, they reveal the real incident and help people to know the truth.