Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Research and innovation are the keys to develop a nation, and the world today is the best example of it. The prompt claims that scholars should not limit their experimentations to just those topics in which they hope to innovate something with an imminent and empirical application because the estimation of the results with certainty is impossible in research. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this statement for the reason mentioned in the prompt and another reason, however, I do concede that sometimes it is necessary to focus on research that has an immediate practical implementation.

First of all, researchers should not just concentrate on investigations that entail early pragmatic outcomes since before completing the entire works, they do not know what might happen. The main reason for researches is to find out the probable causes of a physical phenomenon, social event or to check the plausibility of a hypothesis, so if before finishing the works, researchers know what will occur, then there is no need for that research. For instance, the great scientist Albert Einstein worked several years to model the gravitational wave not knowing what he would find after the experiments. Then, when he created a model, it was so different than this expectation that he even expressed his doubts about the accuracy of the results, however, recently CERN, a physics research institute, discovered the gravitational wave and stated that it is almost similar what Einstein found and can be used to solve numerous astrological problems. Thus, scholars should work in a systematic way to find meaningful outcomes even if the work does not have immediate application as, without research, the results can not be predicted with certainty.

Secondly, scholars should not think about the immediate application because long term applicability could be more useful. Some researches require many years to complete, particularly theoretical research in physics or mathematics, and the time spent is commensurate with the significance of the outcome. For example, the physicist Nikolas Tesla who invented the AC power we use today worked his whole life in different projects that did not have any use at that time. But he was ahead of his time and thought about the future, consequently, he worked in wireless power transfer which was useless then but modern scientists exploited his theory, and now we can charge our mobile and computer without any wire connection. If he only considered projects that had immediate use, we would not have such wonderful wireless devices.

However, in some rare cases, scholars should focus highly on immediate problems targeting a probable outcome. Mankind faces unexpected events sometimes; such important times require different measurements to tackle them. For instance, the world is now besieged by the novel coronavirus, scientists do not know much about its molecular structure and genome. There is no medicine available that can cure the patients, so the only way to protect people is to prevent it from infecting which can be achieved by vaccination. As a result, researchers all over the world have been working relentlessly to invent vaccines, and already we have some efficient vaccines such as Moderna, Pfizer, Oxford, etc within only one year. These vaccines are saving millions of lives. If in this unprecedented situation, researchers did not think about the current threat, we would not have these life saving cures.

In conclusion, researchers should think about the future world while working rather than limiting their works to resolve only impending problems, however, in unusual situations, they need to devote their time to solve immediate threats.