It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A nation can be recognized by its customs and traditions, these things can be found in different areas of the country. The prompt suggests that cultural traditions are produced and conserved mostly in city areas of a country. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this idea for two reasons, however, I do concede that some cities have generated and preserved many traditions too.

First of all, rural areas have generated and preserved more traditions than city areas because, in the past, there were only a few cities in the world and most people used to live in rural areas. Traditions and cultures can not be generated overnight - they have been with us for a very long time, that’s why they are called traditions. For instance, in Bangladesh, there is a very popular garment called ‘Nakshi Katha’ which can only be made by hand. Every village house in Bangladesh has this cloth since the Mughal rulings in the 15th century when there was no city in this country, and that’s why it is considered as an important custom and even nowadays, city dwellers buy it from country people. Thus, traditions we have with us today are mainly generated by the ancient people who used to live in countryside.

Furthermore, pastoral areas have generated more folk songs and fiction since they have more scenic views and elements of nature which attract creative people like poets, writers, and singers. Literary minds look for clues everywhere in nature to express their thoughts in writings and so, they often visit countryside. For example, the noble laureate poet Rabindranath Tagore used to explore bucolic areas of Bangladesh and India and wrote many literature there. He used to construct a small home and spend several months there before he went to another village; even his bungalow in Mymenshing, Bangladesh attracts thousands of tourists every year. Similarly, Lalon Shah, who was the most popular folk songwriter and singer of Bangladesh, used to live in Kushtia, Bangladesh; his songs reflect the true nature of his country, remind people how this country was once. They have been included in primary school books so that children can learn about their own culture from their early days.

However, some ancient cities in the world have generated and preserved many invaluable cultural traditions. Since most of the cities in the past were ruled by royal families, many of the artifacts they left behind provide us the information about life in that time. For instance, Dhaka city was a vital place when it was reigned by the British government in the 17th and 18th centuries. While their reign, they set up many buildings such as Ahsan Manjil, Lalbagh Kella, etc which are now considered as part of the culture of Bangladesh. Also, they left numerous old books, legal documents, and weapons which are now stored in museums, and people visit there to obtain knowledge of their history. Therefore, some cities which were ruled by Kings contain many historically significant things.

In conclusion, rural areas have generated and preserved more cultural traditions since most of the population of a nation used to live there, and innovative people were drawn to them although some cities are full of crucial historical specimens too.